Fun was in the mud at the Eaton Invitational on Saturday 9/17 for the Braves Cross Country team.  Maddy Iden led the way for the girls with an 8th place finish out of 184 runners.  She was followed by Hannah Lippincott in 17th, Libby Farmer in 21st in her first cross country race and Eva Motta in 25th.  Allysa Chaney rounded out the score as the 5th Brave to cross the line.  Rachel Dsuban and Gabby Sawyers also ran especially strong races.  The girls team finished in 5th place out of 14 teams.

The boys cross country team also ran a strong race with a 6th place finish out of 13 teams.  Daniel Sawdai led the boys with a 13th place finish out of 259 runners.  Kiefer Bell was 17th, Jacob Friedline was 26th and Zeke Groom was 47th.  Ben Shrider rounded out the scoring in his first ever cross country race.  Ben Nachowitz also ran well in his first race and Tyler Wheelright ran a new personal record.

The TMS boys and girls cross country teams were in action again Saturday, Sept. 3 at the Miamisburg Invitational and again made a strong showing.  The boys finished 6th out of 16 teams and were led in scoring by Keifer Bell (6th/263), Daniel Sawdai (8th), Jacob Freidline, Zeke Groom and Luke West-Poley.  Many other runners had personal bests including James Beckett, Hunter Caudill and Domenick Carollo.

For the girls, Maddy Iden led the way with an 8th place finish out of 192 girls.  Eva Motta was 20th, Hannah Lippincott, Sophie Mack and Alyssa Chaney rounded out the scoring for the Lady Braves. Every single girls runner ran a personal best for the season at this meet.  Congrats girls!

The Talawanda Middle School girls cross country team continued their fine running at the Edgewood Invitational yesterday.  Maddy Iden led the girls with a 9th place finish out of 130 runners.  Eva Motta was 14th and Hannah Lippincott 33rd.  Katie Keeler and Brooke Hubbard also ran great races.

The Talawanda Middle School boys cross country team earned their second trophy of the year with a first place at the Edgewood Invitational.  The Braves had their first four runners finish in the top 11 out of 147 runners.  Daniel Sawdai was 2nd, Jacob Freidline was 10th, Kiefer Bell was 11th and Zeke Groom was 13th.  Luke West-Poley completed the scoring as the all important 5th runner on the team.  Morgan Gillespie, Levi Tanner and Daryl Zazycki also ran solid races.

The running Braves of Talawanda Cross Country competed in their first meet of the year on their home course on Saturday. The boys earned the runner-up trophy as they had three runners finish in the top 6.  Daniel Sawdai was 3rd, Keifer Bell was 4th and Jacob Freidline was 6th out of 69 runners.  Zeke Groom and Luke West-Poley rounded out the scoring for the Braves.  The girls also ran very well to finish in 3rd place.  Maddy Iden led the team with her 5th place finish out of 66 runners.  Eva Motta, Hannah Lippincott, Alyssa Chaney and Alysse Aylor rounded out the top five for the Braves.  Many other runners completed their first race and competed very hard.

The SWOC middle school boys basketball tournament Jan. 30 at Mount Healthy. Pleasant Run and Talawanda both reached the championship in the seventh and eighth grade games. 

Pleasant Run took the seventh grade title, and Talawanda took the eighth grade championship.